Little sisters ARE good for something!

Here is something that I have learned as I have gotten older, my little sister keeps me young.  We are products of the 80’s and still believe in the creation of the perfect ‘mix tape’ (although now in the form of CD’s).  We are forever passing back and forth mixes we create for one another and I have to admit, she one ups me every time.  There are few people in this world that understand and execute the perfect cadence of a mix….the right selections of old and new…fast and slow…live and studio.  My little sissy gets it…and this is how she keeps me connected to what is hip.  She introduces me to new artists of the ‘now’ (she blew my mind with Florence and the Machine and most recently Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros) but still remembers our roots and always throws in some great blast from our past (oh hello John Denver…where have you been?)

This is the most recent pic of my baby sissy…taken on vacation…she may disown me after seeing this…

Imagine my surprise when over our family vacation she whips up a batch of Baked Oatmeal.  I had never heard of such a thing…and we love oatmeal in our family!  Sissy made quite the elaborate recipe in that she soaked the steel cut oats over night and added dried cherries.  I was in l-o-v-e!  Every few weeks I make a pan Saturday morning and the family really loves it.  Here is the recipe that I have been using since I seem to have most of these things on hand.  Topped with some greek yogurt, it is truly divine.

PS To the middle sister…don’t worry I haven’t forgotten about you…! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

