The Long and the Short of It

I cannot explain to you how excited I was for a four day holiday weekend.  I COULD NOT WAIT for Thanksgiving!  We had no where to be, but did I have plans.  I had projects and crafting and fun galore planned for our family, and it was supposed to be 60 degrees! We could be outside-on Thanksgiving-in Wisconsin! Wednesday I sailed out of work and got all of the grocery shopping done and out of the way.  I scooted home and picked up the house before getting the kids from school.  Boy oh boy everything started out so great those first few hours.

Then the rug got pulled out from under me.

At about 6:30 the girl asks me to check out her hair one more time since she has been ‘itchy’ all day.  And that my friend is when I shrieked just a bit.  Yes, the girl had lice…and later we discovered the boy did too. (Feel free to start scratching right about now…go ahead…you know you want to) We had received a notice the day before from the school but you never actually expect YOUR child to have it…it is always THEIR kids that have it.  And thus began our holiday weekend.  In years to come you may hear us refer to it as the ‘weekend of never ending laundry’ or ‘the weekend we kept running out of hot water because of all the frickin laundry’ or ‘the weekend mom made us wear shower caps’ or ‘the weekend we spent hours upon hours getting to know every strand of hair on our kids’ heads’. (Did I mention e-v-e-r-y strand?)

We made the kids wear shower caps all weekend long

Luckily the boy is, well a boy and can have his head shaved…so he is sporting a very short haircut these days and looks very handsome despite the circumstances.  The girl got her hair tweezed and combed and tweezed and combed.

Here is what I am thankful for as I really had to search for the silver lining in all of this.  I am thankful for modern day electronics as it provided us HOURS of entertainment at the kitchen table.  The girl and I watched more Modern Family episodes than we care to admit to and the boy talked me into more bad kid movies than I ever want to watch again…BUT…it made the time go by so much faster.  I am also thankful that even though the kids looked like they were prepped for surgery in their caps, they weren’t sick and I knew that sometime very soon this too will pass.

I am sure someday we will look back on this and laugh….but that day is a ways off….

Leave a Reply

