Something to throw down

A few weeks ago I received an excited weekend email from my besty knitty friend.  The jist was HEY!  Look at this!  Doesn’t THIS sound great?  Are YOU in?  Well, I had to stop everything to figure out what the heck she was talking about.

And what she sent me was bloody brilliant. (Note to reader…the ladies of Downton would never use the word ‘bloody’…but being ‘lady like’ has never been my strong suit…)

First off a bit of background, I love Downton Abbey.  I was turned onto this show by the same knitty friend and I ended up watching the whole first season in a weekend…and I was completely and utterly hooked.  I went on to tell my mama about it, and she watched the whole first season in a day.  Yup, it is that addicting…and wonderfully marvelous.

So, when knitty friend exclaimed there was a MYSTERY DOWNTON ABBEY KNIT ALONG….and was I in???….I swooned with what was just about the best accumulation of my favorite winter activities.

It all started here with Jimmy Beans Wool.  I originally had ordered the suggested wool online, but then decided I couldn’t possibly wait so off to the yarn store I went.  (what was I thinking???new wool???why ever would I want to wait???) The ‘mystery’ only lasted for a day as the first clue did reveal what we were knitting.  That was a bit disappointing, but understandable since a variance for different sizes needed to be accounted for.  The rest of the month was so much fun!  I learned a new technique to cast on and it was really fun to read everyone’s progress in the blogosphere (1700 people logged that they were working on the project…WOW!)  Each week they revealed a little bit more of the pattern…and voila…here are my Lady Violet gauntlets….ready and willing to be thrown down at the mere mention of an outrage!

The during...this picture sums up my winter..a kitty...my kindle and knitting....
The during…this picture sums up my winter..a kitty…my kindle and knitting….
The after...as it turns out it is really difficult to take a picture of your own arm.  I also 'Instagrammed' the picture as I just could not get the colors to look right.  The green is MUCH more pretty in person
The after…as it turns out it is really difficult to take a picture of your own arm. I also ‘Instagrammed’ the picture as I just could not get the colors to look right. The green is MUCH more pretty in person
Leave a Reply

